Why do I do this to myself

“The greatest griefs are those we cause ourselves.”

– Oedipus Rex 

I don’t like crying in public, not many people do. But no matter what, if a movie, book, show, or song is sad to me, I will cry. I’m a really emoitonal, relatable person like that. If it’s sad and pulls at my heart strings, I will sit there, my lips will tremble, and then I’ll start to cry. But if there’s one thing that gets me everytime, its unrequited love.

Paul-Ugly-Crying-new-girl-30706389-245-175.gif (245×175) tumblr_mha57lvLwU1rdvjhwo1_500.gif (500×250)

I’m not even joking, I’m that person that will almost always root for that one guy that you know, you just know, will never get the girl. I hate love triangles because I’ve seen so many play out that you sit there and just look between the two, and you stop and shake your head and say “he’s not going to get her.”

BUT THAT DOESN’T STOP US FROM FALLING IN LOVE WITH THE POOR SUCKER AND ROOTING FOR HIM ANYWAY.

suckers.jpg (350×350)

For some reason, I’m a real softie towards those characters. I don’t know if it’s because I can relate, or that I can’t help but feel for them, but I still do it, and it sucks. Because you sit there, hoping, wishing, feeling terrible, but when the characters themselves come to realize what will never be, I stop and start bawling because it’s so sad. It’s even worse when they give that pained little smile and gently push the one they love in the direction of the one who will end up with them.

tumblr_inline_motwgrNavw1rxymrk.gif (500×250)

But it’s actually like

raining_david_tennant_nosedrip.gif (500×275)

I’ve seen it happen over and over again, and it never ceases to pull at my heart and really slap me across the face. And it’s just so sad as you sit there, feeling their pain, wishing they could be with the one they love. But some smart person out there decided that making two guys or two girls love one person and one of them doesn’t get them would be a great idea. And it was. But this is the outcome, and now you have sad people all around the world.

34a.gif (500×272)

I think it hits some of us so hard though because we can really understand, you know? We can feel their pain because out there, we all just want to love and be loved. We are left to helplessly root for our characters as the inevitable comes to play, and we cry, because it’s just sad, no matter how you look at it. I will always have a soft spot for that guy or that gal that never gets the guy. But then again, half the time, if it weren’t for these characters falling in love, there would be no development, and these feelings help them grow as characters and people.

Puppy-Licking-Michael-Scotts-Nose.gif (500×230)

So the cycle will continue, with those falling in love, and those being loved, because love is what makes the world go round.

One comment on “Why do I do this to myself

  1. Brandon says:

    Wow, I couldn’t put it better myself! I agree with your thought on how alot of us will cheer for the guy whom we know will not get the girl. I think that you should also keep up this ‘Woeful Wednesday’ posts, it’s really cool and inspiring! This also can show the reader, how life is not exactly black and white, and how people cheer for the underdog. The crying is the only part I disagree with (haha), not saying that its bad or anything. Good job Ally keep it up!!

    I think that the guys/girls who receive the unrequited love, are the best. If I had the choice of getting the girl or being that guy, I’d honestly rather be that guy.~Just a thought, 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

